Slickflicks | Photography

Icon

through my lens…

Improving your photographing skills

Howdy people!

Like everything in life, we seek for improvement. We want to achieve a certain goal and be proud of it. Such thing does not happen over night, it takes months or even years!

I’m continuously looking for ways to improve my photography aptitude. I shall share some of the methods that I’ve used before and find them effective.

  1. Shoot more! As the saying goes, practice makes perfect. It applies to photography too! The more you shoot the more experience you will gain. You will become more aware of the photos that you want to take and how are you going to capture them. In other words, you’ll be more aware of your own mistakes and know how to avoid them.
  2. Shoot with friends! Shooting with friends really help a lot! Moreover with a DSLR, you are able to correct each other mistake immediately. The best thing is, you might get another chance to capture that moment. I started off by shooting with friends frequently; I find this way of learning most effective.
  3. Photo Clinic! Organise a photo clinic to review each other’s photo. A photo clinic will only be successful when every participant provides constructive comments on the pictures. This is also a session to bond and share interesting stories about your photos. I always find photo clinic intriguing and entertaining!
  4. Read more photography books! I’ve read quite a few photography books, and they really helped. One very decent book is “Within the Frame The Journey of Photographic Vision” by David DuChemin. A good friend of mine recommended it to me and I really enjoyed reading it.
  5. Think before you shoot! Ask yourself why do I want to capture this? What makes it so special? What should I include in the frame and what should I exclude? Where should I place the focus on? How should I compose it?

I will not say that I’m an excellent photographer but these are methods that have accompanied me along the way, and I find them really useful!
There is no harm trying, giving it a try and let me know if it helps.

Adios,
Slickflicks Photography

Filed under: Posts

Leave a Reply

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

